ciw Certifications

About Our Certifications

CIW (Certified Internet Web Professional) is the leading vendor-neutral certification series for Information Technology (IT) within the United States, creating specific IT career paths for students and professionals of all ages. The CIW core curriculum focuses on the foundational standards and job skills that enable the Internet to function, including Web design, development, administration, networking, databases, and security. CIW is comprised of an extensive series of curriculum and high stakes certification examinations teaching IT in foundational and specific career path subject matters.

Since the mid-1990’s, CIW has delivered over 2 million courses with over 250,000 Certifications granted. Over the years, CIW has gained significant industry and governmental recognition for delivering requisite skills for careers in both IT and management leadership. All of our courses of study include student pre-assessment, courseware via our CIW campus, textbooks (either digital or hard copy), and a comprehensive set of online supplements which include videos, lesson quizzes, online exercises, hands-on labs, and practice exams; followed by specific high stakes certification examinations. CIW is now recognized in more than 90 countries as an industry standard in IT education and certification.

Web Foundations Series

These courses and certifications are ideal for all students and professionals who use the Internet on the job. The CIW Web Foundations series consists of three foundational courses and corresponding certification exams.

  • Internet Business Associate
  • Site Development Associate
  • Network Technology Associate

Basic Internet Skills

Personal Information Security

Project Management

Introduction to HTML and CSS Coding

Website Management

Network Creation and Troubleshooting

OSI Reference Model

Web and Mobile Design Series

Certified CIW Web and Mobile Design Professionals will prove their skills in the areas of Web design, strategy, commerce and analysis. 

  •  Advanced HTML5 and CSS3 Specialist
  • User Interface Designer
  • Social Media Strategist
  • Data Analyst
  • Mobile Application Developer
  • Multimedia Specialist
  • E-Commerce Service Specialist


User Interface Design

Social Media Business Strategies

Multimedia Creation and Implementation

Mobile Application Development

E-Commerce Services

Data Analysis

Web Development Series

Whether you want to specialize in JavaScript, Perl or databases, the CIW Web Development series has training and certifications just for you. This series consists of three specialist courses and corresponding certification exams.

  • JavaScript Specialist
  • Database Specialist
  • Perl Specialist


Document Object Model (DOM)

JavaScript Libraries

Database Design Methodology

Structured Query Language(SQL)


Database Interaction Using Perl

Web Security Series

The CIW Web Security series consists of one CIW course and corresponding CIW certification exam, plus advanced CIW credentials that you can obtain by earning additional certifications from third-party security training providers. Whichever level of expertise you aim for, you can demonstrate to employers that you have the technical skills and knowledge to manage and protect the security of online data, from a single computer to an entire corporate network.

  • Web Security Associate
  • Web Security Specialist
  • Web Security Professional



Types of Network Attacks

Security Best Practices

Protocol Layers

Use of Firewalls

Virtual Private Network (VPN)